its a new year

It’s been awhile since I made a post, so I’m gonna fill you all in on all that’s happened the past few months.

Our family started attending a new church last year. After 13 years at one church, we woke up and realized how much we disagreed with and how much was wrong. So we left. I think that if you don’t fit somewhere you don’t change yourself to fit, you go somewhere else where you do fit. And if you don’t agree with what’s being preached you go somewhere else. We are not meant to break ourselves to fit in a place we don’t belong.

It’s been almost a year now since we found our new church, and it has been a good year. Covid kind of interrupted that, because right after we attended two Sundays everything was shut down. But we watched online until it was started again in person. Since then I have heard truth preached so many times and listened to some really eye-opening sermons. It was definitely difficult to leave, but we’re better because of it.

The younger kids joined AWANA and they love it. They’ve made friends and they’ve learned so much. Felicity, Kaleb and I have been attending youth group every Wednesday night and it has been so good. Not only that but my parents have made friends as well.

In October we had to put down my horse, Belle. It was hard and I really miss riding her. At the beginning of January the opportunity came up to get a horse named Happy. He’s super sweet and also a huge baby lol.

I got a new ferret a few months ago. His name is Lupin (get it? Tonks and Lupin?) and he’s such a sweetheart. He’s so much bigger than Tonks now.

I realized I love painting and coloring things, and now we have a wall of colored pictures.

This past week we redecorated and reorganized our room. It works so much better this way so far, and it’s nice to feel like I have a “new” space.

My niece has learned so many words over the past few months. She’ll say “hi” “bye” “please” “mama” “cheese” “ball” “dog” and probably a few more I forgot. She loves coming over and spending the day with us.

I’ve listened to so much music the past few weeks.

I dyed my hair so many times. It’s blue and red now.

I had my first sleepover and hung out with some great people for my birthday. Also went thrift shopping which was so much fun.

I started and finished algebra.

I brainstormed for so many stories.

I realized I absolutely love Taco Bell, which I realize is a weird thing to love but what can I say? They have the best hot sauce and cheese in everything.

I went ice skating for the first time with some really good friends.

We went trick or treating then came home and watched Red Hood and cried about it cause Jason Todd.

Our cow had her calf and mom and I have been milking buddies for the past few months.

We went to a For King & Country concert and had so much fun singing at the top of our lungs and eating popcorn.

We blew bubbles out of soap at 10pm and sang veggietales.

We had a super great New Years Eve. It’s our tradition to watch Lord of the Rings every New Years Eve, and we invited a bunch of cool people over this year and set of fireworks and laughed at each other.

Recently I went through and “Marie Kondo’d” who I follow on social media. I unfollowed anyone I politically/religiously/or morally disagreed with. I unfollowed anyone who I didn’t read posts of anymore or I just didn’t want in my life anymore. I unfollowed anyone who didn’t “bring me joy”. And that probably sounds silly but it’s so important to watch who you let affect your life. And I just want you guys to know that that’s okay. It’s okay to unfollow people. Even if you’ve followed them for years, or you know them personally. Even if they never did anything wrong to you. You get to control who you let into your life and social media is a big part of that.

What have you guys been up to? Any big life changes recently?

3 thoughts on “its a new year

Leave a comment